I'm Petrified...

wareagle

Hi all...well I've really gotten myself into a pickle now...I've been putting off going to the dentist for 2 yrs. now (even with when my fillings started falling out left and right). I always had an excuse...I'm too sick...I don't have the money...I'll just wait a little longer...

Well, I finally lost a very large filling and decided I could no longer put off the dentist. I went for an eval. last week and wasn't surprised to learn that I need 1 poss. 2 root canals and several fillings. I was coming to terms with that this weekend when low and behold 1/2 of a tooth simply broke off at the gum line!! :(

Now I might have to go to an oral surgeon for an extraction and I'm really freaking out!!!! It just makes me so sick that b/c of my fear I've let my teeth get this bad. I never had a problem going to the dentist prior to POTS...I've had a lot of work done over the years and it used to not bother me. But now that I can't have the novacaine with the epi. I just don't know what to expect...and I'm shakin' in my boots.

I did a search and read prior posts...I know that they can use the Carbocaine to numb me up...but now I'm scared that I'll have some sort of weird reaction to the freakin Carbocaine :( . I KNOW I'm being dramatic and I keep trying to calm my body down but it's just not really listening to me!! I've been so tense these past few days...I just can't seem to relax. I swear...I went through SURGERY this year and I don't remember being this scared!!

I go in for a cleaning this afternoon and the dentist is going to eval. the broken tooth...I'm schedule to start work on another tooth on Wed...any good thoughts you guys could send my way would be much appreciated!

This is a good post! I had a filling fall out and I need it fixed.....Any advice is welcome...Also, why can't we use the regular novacaine they give pts.?

Jacquie