Pots And Mvp

just curious, how many of you POTS people have MVP as well? i think dr.low from mayo is starting to investigate some sort of corelation btwn the two.....at least in his questionarrie and in a lot of these questionairres for POTS research there seemingly is always the question "do you have MVP"...

Guest sonotech

Cardiactec,

Maybe you can answer this question....Isn't it true that many cases of MVP are NOT detected even with an echo? I heard some crazy percentage (like 40% ???) of MVP is not detected by diagnostic testing.

Maybe you have more info on this cuz it makes me wonder if many of us have "MVP Syndrome" but have not actually been diagnosed with MVP.

her sonotech, yes that is true. i am actually an echo tech myself and a lot of cardio's who know enough about MVP know that both hydration and patient position have everything to do with provoking the mitral valve to prolapse.....and it's not that it would be a false positive...what it would be would be a false negative NOT to diagnose what is present since IT TRULY IS THERE! -- whether or not it only appears prolapsed JUST when you are leaning forward or being upright instead of just when supine.

some docs however debate the finding of MVP if a patient is found to have it and they are dehydrated, because dehydration is a physiologic state that can be reversed with fluids. position obviously cannot be "reversed" because who the heck is going to stay supine the rest of their life! haha.

i have had four or five echos and three have shown it to be prolapsing and two have shown it not to be prolapsing. i think a lot of it has to do with autonoic innervation to the heart on the day of the actual echo imaging......since we all know that pots fluctuates in symptoms from day to day with a wax and wane pheonomenon, it makes sense.....