I Think Maybe The Shoes Are Helping My Pots

Amazingly enough, the last 2 months, I have had hardly any POTS symptoms. And tonight I shopped in a mall and tried on clothes for almost an hour! I have also recently had one 30 minute symptomless walk and did a short stint in the grocery store.

I think my POTS is improved because of my MBT shoes and also the physical therapy exercises I have been doing.

About 3 months ago, I had knee pain so bad that it hurt to walk. I went to a physical medicine doctor who said my joints are loose (my hypermobility EDS thing) and the knee pain was because the knee and leg bones did not line up correctly. He sent me to physical therapy. The therapist gave me a program of exercises to do specifically to build all the leg muscles, but in particular those that can give stability to the knees. I have been doing these regularly for about 3 months now and the knee pains are gone. I plan to continue this set of exercises 3 times a week forever.

The physical therapist also told me to get very stable shoes (I was wearing Reeboks and he said they were not stable enough for me.) I went to 2 different orthopedic shoe stores and tried on dozens of shoes but none really fit me because I need a 4A heel, a B in the front and a square toe box. Where on earth am I going to find that? I became intrigued with the MBT (Massai Barefoot Technology) shoes and found I could fit a pair of the sandals because they were very adjustable. I have worn those sandals every day since and I love them.

When I stand up in them, I stand up straight. All my life I have been slumped with shoulders rounded forward and I think my hunching was partly due to wanting to keep my head down to help stave off lightheadedness. Now I stand straight without wanting to drop my head.