High Or Low Bp

Hi, how can you tell the difference if your symptoms (blurry eye sight, headaches, etc.) are due to low/high bp?? I can't afford a bp cuff right now, so are there any other ways to tell? THanks :)

Hi,

I'm not very good at it. -That is to say that my symptoms seem to be the same either way... which is sometimes rather frustrating! Since my BP usually stays high when I stand, I thought it was an error when my latest TTT showed a BP of 66/44 and then 55/33 after standing there for 30 minutes wishing I would pass out to get the darned thing over with... luckily that got them to stop it, but I wasn't aware that my body did this after standing for so long- of course, that could be because I make it a point not to stand so long! Possibly the only thing I notice is that in general when my BP is lower and I'm standing, I'm more likely to be nauseated.

If you want to get into a habit of checking your BP, most pharmacies will be able to do it for you, or will have a machine there to use.

Unless your BP is dangerously high -- 200/110 or higher -- then it's probably not symptoms of high BP you're experiencing. If your BP is lower than 90/60, you may have occasional symptoms like dizziness and lightheadedness (especially when you stand up quickly, so move slowly) and cold hands/feet.

Many of the POTS symptoms don't seem to be from the BP but more from whatever else is going on in our bodies. I have very normal BP most of the time and have all kinds of weird dizziness/vertigo/fatigue/etc., plus body temp. fluctuations.

Amy

MY GP told me a good way to know is by your pulse pressure. If you have to feel hard/press hard on neck or wrist to feel it and if it is weak it is generally a sign of low BP. Whereas if your pulse is very strong it is generally higher. Obviously this method does not give readings of what it actually is but might help you find a pattern to your symptoms. The rate of your heart stays the same but the strength of your pulse changes.