What Med Can Help

halmad85

Hi everyone! I've been having a very difficult time trying to get my POTS under control. I spoke to my doctor about it today and he said there is nothing more he can do for me. The only thing I take right now is Inderal and Florinef. He offered me a visit to an EP Cardio though. Which is good because now I can at least have some hope that this doctor will be able to help. It's starting to feel like disability is in my near future. I don't know what to do to help myself get through my working days. I'm a full time nurse and on my feet more than half of my shift. It's becoming way too much. I can barely make it up my stairs these days. My family depends alot on my income right now. My husband is going to school to be a truck driver...thank god. So, maybe when he starts his work doing that, he'll make what I make now and I can cut back on my hours. But, what do I do now?

So, I was wondering if you guys would mind telling me what you use that does help. I need some more ideas of things to suggest to my doctor to get me to feel more normal. I can't handle this anymore. I do plan to bring him the DINET list of "what helps". Is there any more advice anyone can offer to me?

I feel so alone in this fight.

Guest sonotech

I am currently taking Midodrine (vasoconstrictor), Florinef, and sdium tabs.

I know how you feel about the work situation. I have ALSO been in the medical field and worked at hospitals for many years so I know how taxing it can be on your body.

My family had also been VERY dependant on MY salary since I also made more$ than my husband. It is very stressful to work and have POTS. I remember SOOOO many mornings that I wondered IF I was going to even MAKE IT TO WORK. I worked for 6 years struggling every day and I finally, about 4 years ago, had to alter my schedule. Here are the things I tried that helped: