The Morning Shakes

laila

Ok everyone, I need some advice. I am fairly new to this post and like many others have had to self diagnose myself through the years. I have as yet to be officially diagnosed with pots, but I think I may have the tachacardia kind. I am seeing a pots Doc next month. I have been taking xanax for anxiety and panic attacks which the panic is under control. However every morning as soon as I awaken, the moment I am conciously awake I start sweating, trembling and shaking. This morning my pulse went from 60 to 100 in a few minutes. My pulse rarely goes over 110, but I still feel very uncomfortable. Then I slapped on the blood pressure cuff and got a kind of high reading then, 126 over 95. Which fell to 102 over 76 after shower but pulse still high. At night in bed my pulse and blood pressure are low, but the real bad shakiness lasts all morning. I take 4 .5 mg xanax a day and have noticed that if I take 1 when wake up then another 2 hours later I do feel better sooner. Have not had much luck with SSRIS but trying to start on a very low dose of zoloft. And my primary care prescribed atenatol to try.(Beta blocker) I will have to try both separetly, as am like many of you, very drug sensative. Have been repeatedly told this horrible morning thing is anxiety, i Have to go through a whole slow process of getting up, showering, etc. ANYWAY, DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM???? It is so crappy. I am keeping a log of my wild flucuations. I have had some basic heart tests . I have just always felt like something was not right, why can't they control my anxiety if that is what it is. I am also switching pysch dr, I need to get the "anxiety" under control. THank you again, Laila

I don't usually get the shakes, but that can be from an epinephrine surge--some who are very sensitive to epinephrine can get the shaking upon standing.

I do get the huge swings in bp, from what would be considered high to obscenely low.