Florinef

Jacquie802

Hi, my doctor and I have decided to give Florinef another try. However, I decided to read on the side effects(not a good idea) and I am terrified to take it. What side effects have people experienced here? I did do a search on it and didn't find too much as in terms of side effects. It took months for me to even take the Toprol I am on. I want to feel better, but not at the expense of having problems due to side effects :( .

Also, does anyone know how long it takes to get the full effect of the Florinef?

Jacquie

The only side effect I had was headaches at first, they went away after a couple of days. I can't go up much at once or headaches. The more I increase, the worse the headaches. Sorry, I don't know how long it can take for the effects, it would seem it would take at least a few days because of what it does, but I'm no expert. :( Hope this helps!

Guest CyberPixie

You;ll feel some effect from it straightaway but it can take up to 2-3mths to really get going. I havent had any side effects apart from bloating if I take too much.

Florinef's purpose is to increase your blood volume. It does this by making your kidneys retain salt (at the expense of losing potassium and magnesium). My doctor (a nephrologist) measured my blood volume before he prescribed Florinef. Also, he told me in no uncertain terms that the Florinef he was prescribing for me would do no good unless I also ate lots of salt while I was taking it. I also took magnesium supplements and ate lots of potassium.

I had no noticeable side effects from taking Florinef. It seemed to do me good. I was weaned off it after I started feeling much better when I started with the thiamine supplements.

I have been on florinef for over a decade and it works very well for me. It's absolutely imperative that you take potassium supplements along with florinef, though.