POTS- Hurting Family

Ladybug

I just joined yesterday and this is my first "topic"- but it the most important to me. I was diagnosed with POTS in 2000 after I had every test imaginable (spinal tap, CT, MRI, bla, bla, bla) and a neurological resident was telling me there was nothing else they could do (for my headaches), while he was taking my pulse. He knew something was strange, so he sent me to the cardiologist who diagnosed me with POTS. It was my senior year of high school, so I was a "dependent" of my parents. Long story short- tons of medical bills for my FAMILY.

I was totally healthy until that point, and I was a straight A student. My senior year was tough (I missed so much school because I was always in the ER), but I still managed to get a full scholarship to the University of Arizona. I had always planned to be a nurse (almost every woman in my family is a nurse or is in nursing school). However, during my second semester at U of A I started having seizures. This meant I couldn't drive, so someone in my FAMILY had to drive me to school (which was 45 minutes away), or anywhere else for that matter. Worst of all, it meant there was no possibility of becoming a nurse. This semester I finally just had to withdraw completely. Since seizures aren't so common in POTS patients, I had to do two one-week stays in the hospital (one here and one at MAYO clinic in Scottsdale) with electrodes glued to my head. Consequently, my mom had to take those two weeks off from work. The worst part- neither test helped to explain anything; meaning LOTS of money for NOTHING! I hate that my FAMILY has to pay for every test/doctor's visit, but its worse when they don't help (which is so common with POTS, since everybody has different symptoms/solutions).