learning to cope

mindylee1

I am new to this group and I must say that when I sat down and read through your forum I cried my eyes out. I felt like I had finally found a place where I belong. I am 25yrs old and recently diagnosed with POTS. I have been batteling an ongoing illness for 1 1/2 yrs passed through 6 neurologists. Theyall told me that I waas depressed. I'd like to go back and tell them a thing or two. My diagnosis was from the Cleveland Clinic. What a wonderful place. It felt so good to finally have an answer. I'e been through it all ( as you all have).

I recently married this past October. My husband is the most incredible man on this earth. I can thank my lucky stars to be marrried to my best friend. He has never missed a Dr's appt. He knows every drug I've ever been on. He even knows how to deal with me.. it's not easy :) . I have not even got to enjoy married life yet. Please tell me that this will get better??

I'm reaching out to you all because right now I am not coping with this well at all. I feel like an 85 year old woman trapped in a 25 yr old body. I don't want the things most people want at my age.. like going to the bars, going to the movies. I just want to be able to stand to do the dishes without vomiting. I just want my life back. I just lost my job because they don't understand. This has really made things hard on us because I am not able to work.

I don't know if this letter makes any sense but it's good to know that I'm not alone. I read some of your letters and you seem like such wonderful people. None of us deserve this but at least you can surround yourself with people that understand you.

take care

mindy

Welcome Mindy, I'm glad that you found us.

Coping is a long term endeavor. Some days are better than others. For me, today is a bit difficult...but most days, I'm able to keep a really positive attitude. I think that has carried me through more than I can even quantify.