Long term Disability Through Employer any tips ?

HCD77

Hi @Lisa C - I had long term disability insurance through my employer when I could no longer work due to POTS. The requirement with mine was unable to work for 6 months and diagnosis of ongoing health problems ( HPOTS and NCS in my case ). Once I applied I had to talk to a caseworker over the phone and fill out some paper work, but it was pretty clear cut, and obvious that I was unable to work. Once they approved my case they required me to apply for SSDI ( so they did not have to keep paying me until I turned 65 ). They provided a lawyer and once SSDI was approved I had to pay them all of the lump-sum payment ( that was in the contract, once approved for SSDI I have to pay them back ). I have been disabled for 8 years and they still pay me a small amount every months. 

Thank you @Pistol for sharing your information. I am a teacher and navigating what to do with the school district so I don’t lose my disability is overwhelming. Sometimes I don’t know where to go for resources. I am waiting to hear from the company yet I need to tell my school district soon because I am under contract with them. I am so confused and sometimes feel hopeless. I am all alone with no other financial support so it is so detrimental I make good decisions. I have read every article online about LTD and Dysautonomia and applying and how to make smart decisions. My insurance company told me the same thing you stated except I would lose my disability if I quit or resigned before claim accepted. School is starting soon and I feel so lost on where to go to find resources to help me. 😞

You have been so helpful 😃