Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Sign in to follow this  
FileTrekker

My results with Taurine for PVC's

So, by far one of the most troubling symptoms (if not the most) I have with Dysautonomia is PVCs, or Premature Ventricular Contractions. They are basically misfires from the ventricles, and while I've not been able to really pinpoint a cause as to why these occur in POTS (I'm not a scientist) I've begun to suspect that it's a combination of adrenaline / norepinephrine saturation, electrolyte imbalances, and the topsy turvy demands on the heart (bradycardia one minute, tachycardia the next).

Now in January of 2019 I decided to begin a year long experiment. I purchased a small portable ECG device (other brands are available) which I can strap to myself or hold and can record a continuous 1 lead ECG. The aim of this experiment was to regularly record 12 hours (a waking day) while wearing the monitor and then analyze the results to see how many PVC's I had, and how many occurred in each minute recorded. I would then, after a baseline of about 6 weeks of doing this (on a random day or two of the week) I would then start to experiment with adding in possible supplements and see if there was any difference.

To give an example of the ECG readout the device gives, here is an example. Note it's not perfect however it does capture PVC's well enough that with plenty of research and some online courses I was able to clearly recognise genuine ectopy from interference. This ECG is from early in the experiment and shows 3 PVC's in the space of one minute. All ECG's are the equivalent of Lead I in a 12 lead ECG, so it's not possible to properly map the location of these PVC's, although they're likely RVOT and they are uni-focal and uniform, with very similar coupling intervals (for those who care about the deets here)

ecg1.jpg

As a precursor to this;

• I am not a scientist and this is not "real" science