Midodrine and gym workout

lattegirl

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone takes midodrine before working out at the gym?

I have vasovagal presyncope and am having episodes each time I go to the gym.I take midrodine 1.25mg  after the event when I am able to sit up but am wondering whether taking it before gym would stop the episode?

Anyone have any info on this.

Many thanks

5 hours ago, dancer65 said:

Hi

i teach dancing to adults and kids I take 7.5 mg x3 times a day so I time it that I take a dose 1 hour before I start my classes I also load up with electrolytes . This keeps me going for about 2 hours. I have VVS and POTS .

Hi dancer 65,

Wow that's great,  so does it always stop the vvs from happening when you are teaching or can it occur later in the day or next day?

Sorry , I am new to taking medication.

For me the midodrine has enabled me to be upright and gradually to build up exercise and be more active which in turn has helped me get to my Bp more stable. I think I also understand my limitations and I know I cannnot ignore the warning signs , I use to push through those  signs and it never ended well . Midodrine certainly was no quick fix and even now I have regular crashes and have to cut down on my activity, it’s a balancing act I often misjudge . 
however 5 years ago I was not working and unable to do simple tasks , now I work full time and take care of my home ! 
I haven’t fainted in about two years   I know as soon as I feel hot I need to stop,  down a glass of ice cold water and lie down to stop the faint !So I believe it’s a combination of things that help but midodrine was and still is the mayor influence . I hope this makes sense not having a great day , brain fog !! 

You are making perfect sense! 

I'm inspired and hope one day to be where you are, you have come along way ,amazing and well done!

I can only work part time and do try and push thru the warnings! I must learn to heed them!