Working and having POTS

Hi,

I was diagnosed with POTS officially 7 years ago. I am a teacher and the past 2 years have been really rough and I resigned from the public school system after teaching for 16 years. I have found amazing doctors and want to feel hopeful because I found employment at a private institution. Less stress and Fridays off. I'm not going to lie about being afraid as well for this opportunity because I don't want my body to mess it up. Any advice? Positive feedback if you are working, etc. I appreciate it. Thank you.

I'm a professor at a comprehensive university (so teaching is more important than research).  I teach from a seated position to deal with POTS.  The nice thing about universities is that 1) certain accommodations I don't have to ask for, like this one, 2) I don't teach all day, just part of the day, and 3) professors are expected to be eccentric so sitting cross-legged on a table is consistent with expectations.  Your school might be willing to accommodate a request like this.  Or you might find that you have the freedom to just do it without asking.  I guess the question is how much do you reveal and ask for up front, and how much do you wait and reveal later if needed.

Thank you for the response. That makes a lot of sense. I'm going from a very traditional environment to nontraditional teaching environment. I will teach math one-on-one and the class size is 12 students. I don't think that they would say anything about me sitting. I'm just very nervous and scared because I don't want to have an issue and lose a job that I truly want. I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels that way. Lol. Just trying to see if I'm expecting too much I guess. Looking for reassurance as well because sometimes I feel alone. I appreciate you responding. I love that you sit cross legged on a table. 

I guess I am also scared to ask for anything or explain the situation because people fear the unknown.