POTS Stomach, POTS Head, they make me want to stay in bed.

amycooper

This may seem a bit basic for this group, but I'm still new to all of this.

Any hints on how to manage the headaches and digestive issues that come with POTS?  Most articles/advice I find related to the dizziness/lightheadedness (which yes, I do also have) but little on how to manage the other two.

Hi Amy,

On bad days I switch to an IBS friendly diet. I found a book called Recipes for IBS (ISBN13: 978-1-59233-230-4) by Ashley Koff, RD--it's a wonderful book on how to get your motility and bloat under control with the right eating habits, and it has good simple recipes. 

The headaches can come from multiple physical reasons and I think that sensory overload plays a big part in ramping up their effects. I frequently wear noise-cancelling headphones and large sunglasses when I am in stores or large atriums--both have glaring bright light. I try to make all my appointments and do my shopping during the slowest hours a business is open. I can get that information by typing the store name and address into google and it will open up a sidebar with data on the store, if you scroll down there is a bar graph showing the busiest and slowest hours. I do the same for restaurant reservations--Open Table can find you someplace nice that is also someplace quiet and you do not have to wait in a crowd before you sit down. 

My go-to electrolyte drink is milk. If you can't do dairy then soy or almond milk will also do because they are enriched with nutrients. Milk is rapidly digestible food that contains a dose of vitamins and minerals. If you are depleted on calories or nutrients milk can give you a healthy boost in a few minutes. 

You will get better!