Medicare form ABN

Guest KiminOrlando

Guest KiminOrlando

This advisory is for REGULAR MEDICARE. I have no experience with Medicare Advantage.

Be careful signing the ABN (Advanced Beneficiary Notification) form. Often if this form kicks out, it is indicating that there is a problem with the procedure or the procedure coding and Medicare is likely to deny the items listed on the form. If Medicare does not pay for the procedure, you will be paying. Pay special attention to the amount on this form. The amount they list to be paid CAN be the uninsured patient rate. It CAN be at least 10x what they would have been reimbursed if Medicare had paid. THIS IS NOT ILLEGAL. It is unethical, but Medicare cannot help you if you sign this form. I have been told you will automatically LOSE your appeal if you sign this form because it is a contract where you agreed to pay the amount listed.

If you are presented with this form, I would recommend asking for a copy of it so that you can call the Medicare number on your insurance card (from the waiting room) and give them the procedure code on the ABN form along with the state you will be receiving the procedure in (this matters). Ask them to look up the Medicare approved amount. Write down the amount. Call your ordering physician unless it is the physician you are dealing with. Go back to the people giving you the form and let them know the Medicare approved amount and ask for an explanation of the charges on the form. Ask them to explain why who pays makes that much difference (nicely). 

This just happened to me a couple of times recently. If you didn't sign the ABN, Medicare says they go to bat for you and you don't have to pay for it. I don't really know how that would work out, but I would think you wouldn't have to pay more than the Medicare approved amount. If you did sign it, you are stuck and have to pay what is on it.