Hi Everyone,

I have been on atenolol 12.5mg for several weeks to slow down my heartbeat since I have inappropriate sinus tachycardia. Today the doctor doubled my dose so I take 12.5 in the morning and 12.5 in the evening. I'm a little nervous because my blood pressure is in the low range of normal. I'm afraid it will lower my blood pressure more, so it is abnormal. I already feel as if I'm going to faint a lot. I don't need to feel more so because of my medication!

Plus I have asthma, which is under control right now. Apparently, atenolol can cause wheezing as a side effect. Anyone experience this?

Thanks!

Deb

I fortunately did not experience wheezing while on Atenolol. I also understand that the dose increase up to 12.5 twice a day is still considered a "baby dose" designed to blunt the POTS symptoms. However, as I am not a doctor, I would suggest that you raise your concerns with your cardiologist as well as your pulmonologist. :)

I do not have pots, but have been on 25mg. of atenolol for about ten years.It is to control my tachachardia. I also have low blood pressure and it has lowered some, but not enough to bother me except in the heat. I do not wheeze with it and other than being a little more tired on it, I have not had any reactions to atenolol. My son is also on it and only has complained about being more tired than ususal. One good side effect is that it controls migraines. Both my son and I have not gotten any since on it. Now when I get a headache I can take ibupropen and it goes away immediately. I hope it helps you. Linda

hello-