Exercise Intolerance Paradox

green

I have almost completely recovered from my OI that onset as a teenager. I am now 33.

I rarely feel dizzy. I still get really tired and weak from standing around. I still feel tired a lot, but I have a lot of trouble sleeping, and maybe some sleep apnea so I blame that. 

My biggest complaint is exercise intolerance. I'm actually having trouble wrapping my head around it.

I'm noticing, from my personal records, that periods of non-exercise correspond to productivity gains and a subjective decrease in fatigue. Often there's a 1-2 day delay between increasing exercise and losing productivity / becoming more fatigued, or, a 1-2 day delay between backing off and feeling better. But, it's hard to not see when I'm looking at spreadsheet data of my workouts / productivity. 

Part of me thinks - oh gee, I should quit working out, because I've been working out regularly for 10 years and look at how much I benefit from stopping! 

Part of me thinks - if you do that, you will slowly regress and end up worse than before.

Any thoughts? I ran a half-marathon in Fall 2015, and almost ruined my Ph.D. work - did nothing for months training up, and hardly noticed the correlation at the time. Then again, this summer, I have a leg injury so I cut out running and starting lifting weights again. Suddenly, again, two months ago by and Ph.D. work is noticeably stalled. This is VERY frustrating!

I would love a way to manage the cruel exercise intolerance - I often start up a new exercise regimen in response to psychological stress - and this is a kind of profound cruelty that my reward for trying to cope in a healthy way is to be set back further. 

I'm thinking of trying mestinon again, I did it for awhile and I just don't have records going that far back about whether it helped with post-exercise OI. I'd like to up my tolerance of exercise without becoming dependent on a new drug though.

Water, of course, is a big helper.