Advice on upcoming surgery

Guest ANCY

Thank you all in advance for your replies. 

I will be having an open jejunal tube replacement on Thursday and was wondering if anyone had some insight to share? Any ways to handle anesthesia better? I am not a novice to anesthesia, just would like to know if there were any tricks for a faster recovery time. The surgeon is concerned because last time my vitals tanked and they had a difficult time getting me to wake up.

Especially to those with EDS what are some more important things to bring up with the surgeon? I do have trouble with wound healing and have a history of dehiscene. Any advice on facilitating the healing process? I am concerned as this will be the 3rd time opening my abdomen in the same location, and a rather large incision. Last time the surgeon resected the old scar tissue but the tension on the site seemed to pull it apart even more. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much!

I've had 8 ab surgeries. I have EDS too. I react to adhesive so I  have them staple me instead of tape. If you tolerate adhesive it will hold the incision together better. 

I have trouble with anesthesia also. Have to have less and give anti naseau meds IV with it. The doc also gives me cortisol as a support for my adrenals during the surgery.  They try to not completely put me out, if possible. I tanked during my complete hysterectomy and clean up. They almost lost me. Since then they are careful to not put me under too far. 

I know which pain meds work for me and they have that on board before I wake up. Always with anti naseau meds. Zofran works good for me for that. 

Alot of the recovery for me is how positive I can be going in to surgery. I've noticed if I'm a wreck and worried, it has been a worse recovery. 

I hope things go well for you. 

Issie

Thank you for the advice!