Need POTSie support. My story

Lissa1707

Hi everyone. My name is Lisa. I am 26. I was diagnosed with POTS in September of 2013. Like many of you I am sure you have told your story so many times that it is literally exhausting when it's time to see the next new doctor because you have to go through all of it again but I have finally reached the point where I need support from my fellow potsies. So here's my story. In August of 2013, I went into an arrhythmia while at work. I am an ER nurse and based on my symptoms we all thought it was SVT. I had struggled with resting tachycardia before starting at 19 and since I went back into a normal rhythm on my own we didn't think much of it. Three days later I went into the arrhythmia while I was driving and had to pull over and call 911. My life has never been the same since that day. In what I call my acute phase I was very symptomatic: passing out, light headed, dizzy, tachycardic, hypoglycemic--I could barely stand. We didn't know what was going on or why this was happening. We thought it was from the meds they were trying to treat the SVT with--boy were we wrong. I had been hospitalized previously that March for mycoplasma pneumonia (most likely my pots cause) and had never really fully gained my stamina back so my established cardio doctor was trying to treat me for the "SVT". Luckily he referred me immediately to a cardio electrophysiologist who diagnosed me with POTS on my first visit. My symptoms were so significant a tilt test wasn't even needed. My cardio tells me I am the second worst case he has seen for autonomic dysfunction but I have learned I am very lucky as I have learned about the dysautonomia community. I know now how lucky I am to have been diagnosed so quickly--I've read how so many people wait years. But when I got POTS everything else was going wrong too. I also have hashimotos hypothyroidism (since 12)--I was in full flare and I went from an on the clock harmless cycle to erratic menstrual cycles and