Acupuncture

After multiple drug trials and not successful at eliminating symptoms even though my HR is controlled now, my parents are encouraging me to go to acupuncture. They heard it helps to regulate the autonomic nervous system. Have any of you tried it? I have never done it before or any eastern medicine. I do try to do yoga, stretching and meditate. Just don't know how acupuncture will feel or if it has helped with the symptoms at all. :unsure:

I have a friend whose daughter swears by it. Her doctor doesn't even use the needles. Must be an acupressure thing? I've not gone to her as she is too far out of town, but I am looking into a local one for my daughters. She said it does keep the autonomic system more calm. That's what we are looking for.

I have not done traditional acupuncture but I have done something called dry needling which is a western "version" of acupuncture that addresses musculoskeletal issues by treating trigger points. I have done it twice...once 20 yrs ago for a low back injury and once 2 years ago to address some trigger points due to my EDS.

From the aspect of treating my musculoskeletal issues, both times was very successful. However, the second time, the multiple needle pricks (and I don't have a thing about needles) caused me to have a vasovagal reaction and become presyncopal. I had to stop after 5 treatments because the 5th time I did black out for a few seconds. The therapist said that the needle pricks are known to cause autonomic reactions. I wasn't dealing with POTS the first time and had no problems with this. I think my body had just become so super sensitive to this sort of thing that I couldn't keep it up.

I believe there is value in acupuncture ad I've seen it work in people, horses, and dogs. I would still try this treatment again for my trigger points if they became bad enough, even if I could only tolerate 2-3 sessions.