How Important Is Finding A Cause For Pots?

katyroq

I am a newbie to POTS and have a mild case. The doctor who diagnosed me basically said make sure to take a walk every day, eat salt and drink some gatorade, and come back if anything gets worse. At first I was just very relieved to find out there was nothing too bad causing my near fainting episodes. But now it is starting to bother me that I don't know what caused my POTS and if it is even important.

I think I have had symptoms for a few years but they did not start as a result of a virus or illness. Also I am 31, so like the doctor said many people grow out of it but I am a little old for that. Could the fact that I have had a very gradual onset and also very mild symptoms mean that my body is under a small amount of chronic stress that is adding up over time? If so I would think it is important to find the cause...?

Also does anyone else feel like your body has adapted so as to not experience the symptoms strongly? For instance my HR can go from 55 lying down to 170 getting ready for the day and I would hardly notice. I equate being breathless in the morning with being tired, not having tachycardia! I am pretty in tune with my body and already drink 3+ liters of water per day, eat very little gluten or dairy, no caffeine, sleep 9-11 hours per night, etc.

All of this to say...should I just be thankful that I am okay, deal with the occasional near fainting, and accept that this is just how my body is and I am already doing the things that are good for me? Could it even ever be considered "normal" to have huge hr swings?Or does the fact that I don't know the cause mean something? And how would I find that?

Would be interested in hearing others thoughts.