New Member Just Diagnosed With Pots - Does Stress Make It Worse?

katyroq

Hi everyone,

I was just diagnosed with POTS today. I am very thankful to know what is wrong, and I have a very mild case, but I am still rather overwhelmed. I will search through the forums before asking all my questions, but quickly if I can get any input I would appreciated it.

Does stress make POTS worse? I am a PhD student, so my life is pretty stressful. I take classes, teach a class, and also have research projects (60+ hour work weeks). I had an extremely stressful semester last semester, including taking a huge exam, and during that time my symptoms became worse. They did not get better after I passed my exam or during the winter break, so I'm not sure how the correlation with stress works.

Does anyone else work a stressful job and how do you deal with it having even mild POTS? Can stress cause my POTS to get more severe? Could "pushing through" the symptoms make things worse in the long run?

I'd appreciate any input those of you with more experience may have. Thanks!

Katy

I'm not sure if I have POTS.
Yes, stress does affect me but worst of all, a tiny bit of stress can't sometimes trigger symptoms.
I might feel crappy, sometimes hands feel cold and weird, chest tightness (the area of the chest tightness differs but it is always on the left side), sometimes I feel tightness under my arm (again on left side)
I do technical support for employees on the phone for a company. The thing that bothers most is that you don't know what kind of call you are going to get.

I have tried Vick's on chest, cold water helps a little. I am taking venlafaxine 75 mg but I don't think it is helping. Clonazepam helped but they only prescribed once and then switched to venlafaxine.

I've seen the same message on other boards as well, from people who have IST. A bunch of people say stress makes it worst.

Welcome to the forum.