When/how Did Pots Start For You?

Hi Everyone,

I've been busy reading posts, and am fascinated by the varying onset experiences that people are describing.

I've been wracking my brains for the past two years, but I can't really think of when during the course of my life that things went down the rabbit hole. I now know that I've had EDS hypermobile since birth, but I just can't pinpoint when the POTs started.

Is there anyone out there that thinks they were dealing with POTs as a young child? Possibly even as an infant?

(Can babies even have POTS?) Or can you remember a time when you were "normal" and then suddenly, you weren't?

I can definitively say hyperadrenergic POTS was happening at least 23 years ago (as a teenager), as I tracked down a bunch of old hospital records of supine and standing heart rate/BPs, and there it is. But I believe it was happening a lot earlier.

Since I can remember (even as a toddler) I have always had severe issues with insomnia. I used to be late for school daily, sometimes even hours late for school..in elementary school! And the school was just 5 mins down the road!

The anxiety was also present at a very young age, although I suppressed it as much as I could. At night, as a 6 or 7 year old, I anxiously picked off all the wallpaper from the walls that I could reach from my bed. When it was time to sleep, I also used to self soothe by rubbing my foot in a certain way, and would wear holes into the sheets. I spent hours at night doing this.

I had many strep throat infections as a child, but don't know if this means anything.

As a baby, my mum had two issues that she was concerned enough to raise with a doctor: my freaky large pupils and my tiredness. She was told everything was fine.

So, just curious. How did POTs start for you? Can you pinpoint a date and time? Or were things weird from the beginning?

Best to everyone,

C