Pots Recovery

Hi. I'm a new member in the forum and found great value in looking at posts last year when I was first diagnosed and the forum was public. Sorry to have been a stalker; for various reasons was not comfortable joining then.

I just wanted to share my experience because some of you were so helpful to me in the early stages of my illness and perhaps this can help someone else. (I am a writer but am pressed for time so please forgive any bumbles or oversights.) I rarely check dinet now. However, if there are follow-up questions I will do my best to answer.

I was diagnosed with POTS in March 2013 at age 48 after several months of bizarre symptoms that many here know too well -- heart racing, dizziness, weakness, shakiness, insomnia, fatigue, confusion. The first few months were absolute ****. After I came downstairs in the morning I barely went up again until it was bedtime. I could not drive or think. I was determined to not have my kids see me seeming too sick, so I showered even though I thought I might die in there and while I couldn't really "clean" the house I made sure it wasn't gross.

Anyhow, after trying a few medications and consulting with a neurologist in Buffalo - first by phone, then by visit in May - we found a mix that seemed to help. I am on very low doses of atenolol, midodrine and Paxil, plus salt tabs, a multivitamin and vitamin D. Initially was on hefty dose of anti-anxiety meds to get my sleep and the sympathetic nervous system under control but am now on next to nothing there.