Pregnant And Significantly Suffering

trublukrav55

Awhile back I was discussing possibly getting pregnant and seeking advice from fellow POTS sufferers regarding whether or not this would be a doable path for myself to take. I received a ton of helpful advice, and thank all of you who offered their two sense. I'm now 8 weeks pregnant, however, and feel like I want to quit! I am SO fatigued that I can't work, which is dangerous for two reasons: 1) I'm a psychologist and need to be able to listen to my patients because a mistake could be really bad and 2) I'm the primary bread-winner in our house, so without my work, there is no money for this baby. I can't "take it easy" or "cut back" unless by 'cutting back,' those advice givers mean cutting back on things like a house or car... Even downsizing is not an option on my husband's income, or lack there of.

I'm getting really annoyed with people who don't have the fatigue saying that this is 'part of the deal' and 'totally normal' because I want to slap them! How is falling asleep while driving 'totally normal'? And I saw them pregnant, and it was NOT like this. Or they were drinking copious amounts of caffeine and taking speed. Since their babies are fine, I'm assuming they don't understand what this feels like.

I'm crying all the time because of this, because I can't do this! I can't keep going on like this without going crazy! My doctors prescribed me Vyvanse, a stimulant medication for ADHD, because I was SO fatigued when I wasn't pregnant, and since it is a category C, I can't take it unless it justifies the risk to the fetus. How am I supposed to make a selfish decision such as that? I am also not allowed to take my Vicodin, which was prescribed to me because I have woken up in the middle of the night for the past 13 years in excruciating pain because my joints feel like they're on active, burning fire. Well, I can't take that either, so burning fire it is. Every night.