Keeping Up With Exercise

davecom

I've read a couple of you mention that after months of exercise you gave up on it because your symptoms did not continue to improve. I saw this comment in the Neuropathy Association FB chat today:

"Nicole Duffy

I have a dx of pots and have started the cardiac rehab but I don't know the cause of my pots. I'm 27 years old should I be so concerned with the cause or not worry and stick with the program and hope for the best? Thank you!

Dr Kinsella
you are in good company- most of the time we do not find a specific cause for POTS.
the lynchpin of therapy is fluid, salt and exercise. medication with beta blocker or others may be helpful. keep up with the exercise, as it has the best data to change your outcome."

I've been exercising now for 6 months and I've kind of gone into maintenance mode. I'm walking 110 minutes a day (split up over 6 separate walks, the longest of which is 40 minutes), exercise biking 35 minutes 4x a week, and doing leg weight lifting with light weights 2x a week.

I'm wondering if you guys think I should further increase what I'm doing. I feel like it's already a lot at this point and I'm not sure how much more I want to move forward on it if it's not going to further improve symptoms. Has anyone had success with symptom improvement that they attribute to exercise, more than half a year after starting exercise?

I always feel better when I exercise. I never really exreicsed for years but I finally got out of my boarding school and had nothing to do so I started exercising and I feel less disoriented and I feel lighter and floaty :) it only took me a month to start feeling better after I lost ten pounds :) A great exercise routine is the biggest loser game on the wii. I started off at light exercisie routines now I am at hard :)

Hi Dave,