Driving?

Hi -

I'm wondering how you all handle driving? My major issue with POTS is that I pass out all the time which is obviously a danger if I'm driving.

Do you all drive?

Thanks for any info...

Susie

Hi Susie.

Driving was my passion before I became ill. I don't faint, but driving does make me very symptomatic. For me it causes problems with my neck and shoulders, which can be pretty painful. My heart rate also increases quite a bit, though my blood pressure is stable. I bought a new car in May of 2002 and it only has 2,000 miles on it. That's how little I've been driving. I have no problem being a passenger.

I know there are many here who have problems driving, though they seem to get enough of a warning before syncope. Still sounds dangerous to me, so use good judgement and be safe!

Good luck, Dan

Hi Susie

I too quit driving a year ago. Only in rare situations will I even get behind the wheel. I am lucky I am in a big family and don't really have a problem if I need to get somewhere.

best wishes

Sue

No driving for me either!

If a parent can't take me...which I must have right now b/c I can't sit up to ride in the car...

I have utilized either taxi service or our ride program for the elderly and disabled.

I sold my car to my stepsister in spring 2002. I don't regret it one bit as I am a danger to others even on my best days!

Emily

I don't have problems with syncope and so I don't have problems driving. In fact, I love it. I do find myself lost sometimes. While my sense of direction is pretty decent, I space out behind the wheel and forget what I'm doing and where I am and where I was trying to go. I never feel a danger to myself or others, though; I'm a good driver and always know where other cars are in relation to my own.