My Legs Turn Purple When I Sit, And It Causes A Lot Of Pain

So, my legs and arms turn visibly splotchy and purple when I sit for too long (which is a problem, because I'm a Psychologist). However, I wouldn't care that much, but it also hurts- not like acute pain, but the pain you get when you have the flu, achy all over, wanting to whine a lot, type of pain. I've been prescribed pain killers for the last 10 years (dose has never changed in that time either, which is weird in and of itself), but I would like to be pregnant at some point. Any idea what else I can do? Stopping a therapy session or laying down while on the job is not an answer that will fit w/ me. I also have arthritis in the spine, which I just found out as well :( Any help would be much appreciated!

I've had this, and now make a point to try and elevate my legs on a ottoman or something. Even if they aren't "elevated", they at least aren't sitting on the ground and causing more pooling. Don't know if that position is comfortable for you (depending the angle, it can be bad for me since my legs hyperextended a lot), but its worth a try. As for during a session, may want to explain to the client you need to elevate them, if it seems weird.

It sounds lime blood pooling that comes along with dysautonomia for many of us. I can't think of anything other than using an ottaman as becia said for your legs (at least during a session.). You may want to keep a recumbent peddler (just the peddles of a bike that you can sit in a chair and use) that you can use even if only for two minutes in between sessions in your office. This may help circulate the blood a little. It will pool again when you stop but it may alleviate some of the pain. For your arms and hands, squeezing a rubber stress ball (which you might even be able to do during a session) may help with circulation and give you some relief.