Saline - Infusion Rate

Tobiano

I currently get them 3x/week. I get them infused over 2 hours (500ml/hr) and have the saline heated to body temp (or higher if I can convince the nurse of the day to do so). Pump infusion. I've varied between 2-3x a week, but I have much better success with 3x/week.

I think you have to discuss with your MD about the rate of infusions. I used to take saline very frequently - several times a week. Since I am a nurse, I was able to administer them to myself and I judged the rate by how bad I felt. If I needed volume in a hurry, I ran it in quickly (1 hour or less) - if I just needed a boost, I would take 1-2 hours to receive the liter. My physician left it up to me because he knew I would do what was right. I have not been on infusions regularly for a couple of years but, am about to start again. Now, I have a central port and a perm cath with double lumen access. If I use my port, it only takes infusions at 250cc/hr max. If I use the perm cath with the large double lumen access, I could dump in a liter in less than 15 minutes. My experience has been that if you take it too rapidly, it simply runs through your system via the kidneys without much benefit. If the infusion is long and drawn out, it does not give the volume necessary to "plump up" the blood vessels. Once you start, you will quickly learn what works best for you.

I just started saline last week, at the moment I'm getting 1L infused over 1 hour, Once per week, but I'm talking to my primary monday to see about increasing the frequency. I didn't feel like the one liter did very much (and I had vomiting/diarrhea all day afterwards, so I only got about 2 good hours before it was out of my system.) I've seen other people write about the "dysautonomia cocktail" but i haven't seen much about it, so I'm sort of curious to find more information on it...