How Many Of You Can Work?

galatea

I can't work. I tried to go back twice since this started, once full time and once part time. But I would just end up just laying down on the floor for a couple of hours at a time, so I finally accepted it was time to quit.

It's really depressing. I'd love to get well enough to work again but I have no idea how I'd explain this to a future employer!

I lost the ability to work 8 years ago. For many years prior to that I worked part time but had to call in sick a lot towards the end.

I haven't been able to work for the last 18 months but keep hoping I'll improve and be able to go back at least part time.

I thought I remembered reading a statistic in the past that around 30% of POTS patients were so badly affected they couldn't work but that may be wrong. We may have a slightly skewed outlook on here since those POTS patients who are working probably don't have as much time to hang out on forums regularly.

I was a teacher many moons ago before I had children. I have been a stay at home mom since and I homeschool my children. I was dx. 4+ years ago. After getting sick, I always semi-joke that if I worked and my kids went to school, I'd have to quit work and homeschool the kids. I really don't think there is any way that I could work full time. I do teach at a homeschool co-op one day a week for 12 weeks during the school year (classes are held for two semesters of 12 weeks and I only teach one semester) and even that wears me out completely. Now I only go out if it is necessary and even then I have to back out a lot. I've never missed teaching a Friday though.

I worked full-time for awhile. But, I also lost multiple jobs because my symptoms made me a poor worker.