Does Anyone Have Weight Gain And Problems Losing Weight?

Kris4444

Before all of this started I was a professional horse trainer who was very fit. I also used to run 5 miles a day. I am having a hard time with exercise due to the flushing and dizziness and have put on a TON of weight. I don't even recognize myself. I have tried dieting with no success. I have been to a nutritionist have had testing done. I just CAN'T lose the weight.

I gave up for a while and now I am back on track, going to Weight Watchers and getting on the treadmill daily. I don't know if I will lose or not and now I am 30 pounds heavier than I was when my body first started not allowing me to shed the weight so I need to lose about 50 pounds! UGH!

Is anyone else going through this? Have you found things that have helped you get body back in shape? I feel like my body needs to be jump started or reprogrammed.

Kris,

for me it's probably the florinef and the propranolol that I should blame for my 22 extra lbs. I gained them in the 2 months after I started taking the meds, without any significant changes in my diet. My weight has been almost constant since high school, then I lost some weight prior to being diagnosed with POTS, and now that I'm trying to come off the florinef after a year I can tell I'm going back to my normal weight...or so I hope. I'm not vain, and I'd happily live with the extra weight from the meds if the meds were to help, but they don't.

The other thing I suspect is my lack of physical activity - I have days when I can do a lot, but most times I'm pretty much stuck in bed (not necessarily because of tachycardia) and I'm guessing that may play a pretty important role as well.

Are there any meds you're on that may be responsible for this? Did the nutritionist offer any advice/explanation?

I'm sure there has to be an answer, and I can only imagine how frustrating this must be for you.

Hugs,

Alex