Appt With Genetic Counselor Next Week! And A Few Other Questions...

JeWareGT

I had an appt with my cardiologist yesterday and mentioned EDS to him, and he gave me a referral to a genetic counselor. I have an appointment a week from today...any advice?? Anything else I should go ahead and get tested for while I'm there? I've never done genetic testing before, so I'm not really sure what all they can test for, etc.

My cardio appointment was pretty much worthless other than that; yesterday was apparently day 2 of their brand new computer system, so I mostly got ignored while he tried to figure out how to enter my information into the system. I asked about licorice and whether or not I needed my potassium levels checked (I've been drinking licorice root tea every morning for about 2 weeks, and I've been sleeping so much better and can definitely feel a difference) and his only response was "I don't like tea with dysautonomia because it has caffeine, but if you like it and it makes you happy, go ahead and drink it." Um.... first of all, it is caffeine free, and secondly, I just told you I'm self medicating with an herb and wanted to know if it's safe, and you basically ignored me. But of course, after sitting under fluorescent lights up on the table with my legs dangling for 45 minutes, my brain was a little too foggy to actually think to say that. So I didn't get an answer. Anyone know?? I'd like to start taking it in pill form, but herbs kinda freak me out so I don't want to do anything that might end up being dangerous.