As A Child, Could You Swing On A Swingset?

kayjay

Odd question, I know! I have children and am sometime worry about a genetic link for my problems. I always felt sick on swingsets (which makes sense for pots but was strange as a child). As an adult I was a teacher and played with my students at recess. I got so ill when they wanted me to swing.

I am wondering if any of you have and opinion about this. Thank you!

Yes, sometimes I could swing, but the first time I ever got nausea was on a swing set. I got car sick a lot too. Get motion sick easy. It was one of the questions the neuro at ucla asked me. I now know that when it happens my blood pressure has dropped. If you can check your bp and see if your low. I will faint if or throw up if I don't lay down when this happens.

I could swing, but get motion sick/car sick very easily. I can't read in the car or eat before going in the car. I loved amusement park rides, but could never go on any ride that goes round and round. Actually, I get sick just fom looking at those rides. But I have friends worse than me who don't have POTS.

Interesting question. Swings were ok, but other things bothered me. Trying to read during a car ride caused nausea, going down escalators made me feel like I was going to fall, plane rides made feel really weird in my head and in my teenage years malls or supermarkets triggered the spacey feeling. Something has been wrong all along, but not sure if this is a vestibular issue seperate from the dysautonomia or if these were early signs of the disease/disorder. My son has never liked swings, feels uncomfortable with heights and doesn't like fast amusement park rides. I worry that he's going to be like me - hope not.