How Is Clonazepam Beneficial?

Kat

Hi,

I was prescribed clonazepam / klonopin for nocturnal myoclonus and a seizure disorder. I just started experimenting with it during

the day if I'm feeling jittery. The last time I used it during the day was because I hadn't slept well so

I was having pre seizure jitters. I'm new at recognizing this feeling.

I only need 1/4 of a .125 mg tablet to calm me or help me sleep now. When I was eating and drinking excitotoxins like gluten, hfcs and caffeine I needed .5 - 1.5 mg. And that didn't always work.

Hth .. D

Please be careful taking clonazepam or any other benzodiazepine for more than occasional use. There's a high rate of addiction, tolerance and dependency. If you have been on these meds for a while and have decided to come off them, then please make sure you get proper medical guidance and an appropriately slow taper. If you are finding that you need to raise the dose to get the same effect as you did before, then seek medical advice.

I use temazepam and diazepam occasionally, but I always monitor how much I take (in writing) and am careful not to take them for too long.

There are many Dysauto Docs that routinely prescribe this med to try to "tame" the hyper adrenaline some of us get.

My Doctor is one of those, and I must say it has helped over the past 2 years or so.

I'm careful to not take too much, though it really has no effect on me.

It really just levels things out a bit. I take a 0.5mg 2xday, another on some really bad days.

I've never taken benzodiazepines, but I've been reading how it can be helpful in taming mast cells. I know of mast cell patients who can't tolerate any H1s and will take a benzodiazepine and H2 to thwart off degranulation, in place of a H1/H2 combo. Dr Afrin mentioned he has several patients where benzodiazepines have been very helpful.