Work/discrimination Issues

Anoj

This is long, but I'd really appreciate a read.

Out of everything I've been through the past 1.5 years since POTS - including not being able to perform as a musician anymore, missing family functions, not being able to travel, fainting everywhere and feeling like crap - the worst thing by far has been the treatment I've received at work.

I work for a very large corporation. We have employees all over the world and tools like VPNs, instant messenger, live meeting ... anything you can imagine to facilitate communication among employees. I am a corporate writer. This is a total desk job. However, I am sick enough to make driving in heavy traffic to and from work, riding the elevator and even sitting upright in a chair for hours at a time difficult. Working from home, however, poses no problem. I have a home office and can easily work from a lap desk.

After being wheeled out of work on a stretcher and hospitalized, my boss agreed to allow me to work from home half days and in the office half days. Sounds reasonable, but it wasn't without a fight. At first she said it was OK for me to work from home, then she changed her mind. Not only did she change her mind, she gave all of my work responsibilities to another employee. The employee just had a baby. She was allowed to reduce her hours and work from home doing MY old job - but I wasn't. (Because working from home with a newborn is so easy, but having to sit in a recliner isn't?) Additionally, SHE received a BONUS for the project that I was supposed to be working on once it was complete!