Do Gi Problems Exacerbate Your Symptoms?

katT

Newbie here and just wondering if anyone experiences an increase in their symptoms with GI upset, GERD, or heartburn?

I've noticed that if I have some heartburn or GERD type issues going on it can cause tachycardia and/or dizziness.

Does anyone else get this?

Hey Kat!

Welcome to the site but sorry you are sick :( you will find lots of caring people here and an endless amount of helpful information :) in answer to your question I most definately notice my symptoms get alot worse when my digestive system is in shut down mode. The bloating, heartburn, pain, loss off appetite...I always know I am in for a flare when my stomach starts acting up....I am just starting Domperidone this weekend to see if it helps....here's hoping :) feel better soon...hugs

Bren

Hi! :) Tummy issues are my worst symptoms and it definitely corresponds with other POTS symptoms. I'm not exactly sure if my stomach problems make it worse, or I just am worse in general on potsy days.

yes totally can relate. Welcome to DYNA by the way, its amazing here ! ..... I have lots of tummy issues expecially I get bad flares with my GI stuff when I have difficulty swallowing, and when I get what I call stomach attacks. When I get my stoamch attacks my stomach basically is hurting so bad that I start flushing,my BP drops then I get all tachycardia and it just makes me all potsy from there :blink: lol so yea I can totally relate. GI issues def triger my other symptoms to come on. If you need anything feel free to message me.

Hugs :wub:

Have you all looked into MCAS? I know it gets mentioned here a lot, but it looks like that's what is causing my POTS symptoms. When I have major cramping, stomach issues, flushing, etc. with the BP drop and then tachy, it's a MCAS episode. It's definitely worth checking into!

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone! SO happy to know I am not alone or crazy :rolleyes: