Weight Loss and POTS

Jean123

Being a newbie, I am still learning about POTS. My 13 year old son was recently diagnosed. On Friday, we found out that he lost 8 lbs in 7 days. His appetite has decreased significantly since his dr. added medication to increase his blood pressure.

Has anyone else experienced these problems?

He is still extremely dizzy upon standing and is unable to stand still or walk without assistance.

His doctor told me Friday that he has several POTS patients that are now on feeding tubes.

I'm getting a little nervous! I'm the one that is suffering from anxiety now!

I understand weightloss can be a concern for your child. Many of us with POTS often deal with being underweight. When it first hit me this past summer, I lost 7 pounds in 3 days, and I was already quite thin. At first I was nauseated often and it was difficult to eat anything because it would trigger my POTS symptoms. Now, they are stabilized with some flare ups, and I'm no longer nauseaus.

Currently I fluctuate between 102 and 105 and I struggle to put any more weight on. NO matter what I eat I just can't seem to gain more. My doc did say that my body is burning up calories due to the adrenaline surges in my body. That and the fact that I go through periods of not sleeping well at night and so I'm burning up more calories by being awake for several hours instead of sleeping.

I hope that once you can get some of your son's symptoms under control via meds, fluids, electrolytes, compression hose, etc. that his appetite will slowly return along with some added pounds.

Stephaine is right about putting calories and fat in his diet whenever you can. When I was really sick I liked drinking Ensure, but I could not drink a can in one sitting. It took me several hours of tiny sips to drink it, otherwise all of the sugar in it increased my symptoms and tachycardia if I drank it like I was drinking water. I was okay as long as I drank it slowly though.