Angiotensin Ii Primer Needed For Confused Member

Trach

Ok, maybe it's the brain fog or just pure ignorance, but I have read the studies on angiotensin II and then the basics but my background is in finance and accounting and I am lost.

Would someone please give me a basic explanation about angiotensin II? How does it affect vasoconstriction? How does it relate to ADH levels? I am sooo..... Confused.

How did it affect pregnancy complications? Does it have anything to do with blood clotting?

The research evidence suggests that a small portion of POTS patients have elevated serum angiotensin II. These are predominantly female patients with lower than normal body mass index. How this plays into the pathophysiology of POTS is not agreed on in the research and the rest of the stuff is conjectural theories posted on this site.

So since I have a higher than normal body mass index I would not fit in this category?

I am confused because my POTS (and my daughters) was described to me as a possible dysfunction of the brain stem or something around that area of the brain. We definitely have a genetic component.

Thank-you for your reply. I appreciate your help.

There is really only one way to find out - have your angiotensin II checked. They can do a test for it.

The study that Rama is referring to - showed lower BMI - but, we are all so unique with this illness. It was once thought that we were all alike - time has proven there are significant differences in our presentations. What is thought today - may change tomorrow.