Shortness Of Breath - Can Anyone Explain This Symptom?

lalalisa

Hello,

I've experienced shortness of breath as a POTS symptom off and on but it's been really intense for me since July. I'd love an explanation of this symptom. What do most dr's say? (I called Dr. Grubb but haven't heard back) I find it really disturbing - even though my dr's don't seem to think it's a concern, it feels concerning to my body. I thought maybe if I had a really good explanation that this would help me deal with it better. =)

Thanks for any input!

Lisa

i was told that it's called 'air hunger' - i get this when my lungs are clear and my asthma is not playing up so theres so i'm not technically short of breath, my body just thinks i am cos of the reduced oxygen levels in the brain that happens when blood pools. so your body makes you feel short of breath to try and get more oxygen to the brain but it's futile cos theres just not enough blood running around the system to deliver any more so the feeling of being short of breath can often last a long time (in me during my bad pots days this can last for days).

as long as theres no other reason why you're short of breath (eg asthma, chest infection etc) then i wouldnt worry about it. i have a little pulse ox machine that i use to check my heartrate but i find it reassuring to check my oxygen levels when i get very breathless as my levels are never as low as i think they are... like today, i felt really breathless this afternoon but i saw that i was at 95% oxygenated (100% is perfect) and so although thats a little low its still well within safe levels.

maybe getting one of these would help you too? you can buy them quite cheaply on ebay :)

fi xx