Newbie Here - Does This Sound Like Pots?

klcowley

Hello. I have some symptoms that I was wondering if you could all help me out with. I have been to a cardiologist and had workups done many many times. Heart monitors the whole thing. Structurally my heart is working fine. I feel dizzy, light headed, shaky hands, nausea at night, fast heart rate, feeling like I am going to faint (have fainted a few times), chest pain, chest pressure, weakness - mostly in my legs, and feeling like my brain doesn't work. I have taken my blood pressure (as recommended by my cardiologist) and when sitting it is always the same. But I noticed when I stand it is much higher. Just this morning standing after about 20 minutes my stats were this (taken one after another):

108/69 with a pulse of 106

117/87 with a pulse of 106

Then after laying down for about 5 minutes my stats were this:

98/62 with a pulse of 53

91/60 with a pulse of 60.

Do my symptoms/stats sound like pots? My cardiologist said no, but I know he doesn't understand dysautonomia as much as others do, because he mentioned that if I am having autonomic dysfunction than I might need to go somewhere else like the mayo clinic for some help because no one in my area knows what to do with it.

Any input would be appreciated! Thank you!

Hi and welcome to the forum! Your symptoms sound very much like POTS and like what I experience with the dizziness, weakness, shakiness, etc. Also, your pulse going from 50-60s to over a hundred when you go from sitting to standing sounds almost like the definition of POTS (a raise in heart rate of more than 30 within 10 minutes of standing). To qualify that though, I had a nurse who does Tilt Table testing tell me that they don't necessarily consider the raise in 30 bpm to mean someone definitely has POTS, but to me it sounds like your symptoms are very similar to many of us here!