Have Pots And Now Wondering If I Have Mcad - Help

POTSMama

Sorry so long - - but I feel like I need to give you my history first:

I am now 52, but I first developed POTS at the age of 29 (but took me about 15 years to get a proper diagnosis). I was a young assistant professor at Vanderbilt University at that time, when I started having near-syncope episodes with tachycardia. I wonder now if the precursor to that was a "mystery" mono-like illness that caused severe sweating attacks some months earlier (but I also had 2 surgeries that year, and I also think there is possibly a genetic component as my mom/aunt had POTS-like symptoms, and my brother/uncle have Parkinsons, so I can’t be sure of the etiology). After ruling out pheochromocytoma, I was diagnosed as being idiopathically "hyperadrenergic" (this in the days before the term POTS came into use and before Vanderbilt became a prominant dysautonomia center - - I live in Colorado now). They put me on beta-blockers, which seemed to keep it at bay for a number of years, but I never fit the classical POTS picture because while I do get postural tachycardia, I also get postural hypertension or hypotension depending on the day, and often have nighttime attacks while supine. After I married, my husband made me seek more medical evaluation and finally I found a regular doctor and cardiologist who knew about dysautonomias and diagnosed POTS (they first thought NCS, but realized the beta-blockers had my BP/pulse too low, and I don’t get near-syncope episodes now that I’m off those). With increased fluids/Gatorade, extra sleep, avoiding triggers like alcohol, and an occasional clonazepam for night attacks, I have been managing my POTS pretty well for years. t married at 40, had a baby at 41, then we adopted two more girls from China (one as a baby and one as a 7 year old). I love my life and I don’t have time to be sick!