Lexapro And Tachycardia

derekliz

I was put on Lexapro 20 mg by my electrophysiologist. I also was on meteprolol and klonopin. I am still on the lexapro and klonipin, I just had to change my heart med because the meteprolol wasn't controling my HR at all. I was told by my EP that the Lexapro helped block the adrenalin. It really helped me because the alarm clock went off and my HR was up for 4 hours. I am also a Respiratory Therapist and if they called a Code Blue I wasn't worth a crap. My heart would beat so fast and I would shake and sweat like I was in a sauna. I wish you luck and hope whatever meds you need to take in order to help you, that you can tolerate them.

Years ago before POTS worsened and I reacted to all meds, they tried L on me. Within a couple wks I wanted to make a bumper sticker that said;

"Just say no to Lexapro!" :angry: :angry:

Some of these things spike my heart rate.

Edited by Rachel

Derekliz, electrophysiology is a branch of cardiology where the doctors specialize in the conduction mechanisms of the heart. I don't know if searching for an EP doc will help any more than any other specialty. I think the main goal is to find any doctor, whether neurologist/cardiologist/etc, who is knowledgeable about your condition or who is willing to learn and try various treatments with you. Most of us have to go through some time of trial and error before we find doctors and meds that actually help our symptoms.

Hi Liz. When I first started Lexapro it seemed to help, but, after a couple of months I started to experience POTS symptoms within an hour of taking my Lexapro. I did not know at the time that POTS was what I had, so I can't say for sure that it caused tacchyardia but it definitely made me symptomatic. I also experienced this with Paxil when we tried it as an alternative to the Lexapro.