What Does Mestinon Do For You?

My doc promised to do some studying up on mestinon, as ive been asking for it for a few months to try and see if it will help me gain back some life, as my worst enemy is the relentless exhaustion and weakness. He hasn't prescribed it to anyone, and he doesnt know much about it and doesnt feel comfortable prescribing it since I have tested negative for MG twice now. I was wandering if those of you that mestinon helps, would you care to post what good it has done and is doing for you? I had told him about this site and all the intelligent women and men who come from medical type careers, etc..... and told him about how mestinon seems to be a drug docs will try with various types of DYS. He wanted to visit the forum and read about what real people like me say about it here, so i gave him the web address and told him to read the DYS forum..... im hoping he will read the replies on this post.... keeping fingers crossed!

thanks to all of y'all!

tennille

Hiya,

I'm in the could have MG camp also, I have been for 4 years. I have ptosis unilateral and bilateral, I have shortness of breath, problems swallowing and choking, I also get double vision and blurred vision. When I take mestinon all these issues resolve apart from the double vision and blurred vision. I have had countless negative blood tests, one positive tensilon test, one negative tensilon test and every ice pack test I have is positive for MG. All my SFEMGS were normal.

I am typing this hooked up to my oxygen concentrator (as I have been most of the day). This week has been the week from **** for me as I have had awful ptosis and breathing problems. I take mestinon very sparingly maybe a couple of times a month as I really do not tolerate it very well. I get awful stomach cramps etc