Sensitive Subject

Actually, I have had periods where I had fecal incontinence before. I just don't quite make it to the bathroom in time, or think I'm just passing gas and it's more than that. My POTS doctor (neurologist) told me that it can definitely be a problem for us. I've had some pretty embarrassing experiences with it. Luckily, it comes and goes. I haven't needed meds yet, but I know that there are some out there that can help with incontinence.

You're not alone!

Best,

Jana

Hi Sarah4,

From what is discussed on the UK EDS site innocence seems to be contributed to issues like spinal compression, nerve impingement, over stretchy bladder or bowel. It seems to have many causes all of which should really be checked out by a doctor that will take on board the EDS diagnosis, ha I know not an easy one! From what I have read on the net it is thought that the urgency type feeling EDSers get is to do with having over stretched bladders or bowels this leads to the nerve receptors not being triggered when they should be! I have to remind one of my sons (16years) to go to the toilet as his bladder will hold over a litre of wee the normal healthy maximum, we have been told by the continence nurse, is 500ml! This over stretching of the bladder can in turn lead to a number of problems one being incontinence.

Guest tearose

Yes, I have this. I have had POTS/ans dysfunction for many years.

I wear protective garments, ( various ones depending on my issue) , and have a change of clothing with me and know where the restrooms are.

It is worse if I have had too much fluid or go from very hot temperature into a very cold one.

I have learned how to sense the temperature and dress accordingly. I do have to be very careful in the summer going from hot outside weather and then into air conditioning. I have had to leave the supermarket when it was too cold.