Nurses & Disability

Mito Momma

I know there are quite a few nurses on here. I was just curious... For those nurses who have applied for disability, were any of you approved? And were any of you approved on the first try?

Thanks!

I am not a nurse (just in nursing school) and just applied for disability. Hopefully someone will apply so i can know what to expect! I have already got a lawyer to help out.

I was approved on the 1st try. I was so thankful after all the terrible stories I had heard. I had a friend who is a lawyer who helped me a bit but otherwise it was a fairly easy process for me. Hope you all are successful as well. The wait to find out was the most stressful part.

Brye

I am a nurse and recently applied for social security disablity. I put my application in the first of October. Now the waiting begins. How long did people have to wait on average? If I get denied, I plan to get a lawyer asap.

I was approved on the 1st try. I was so thankful after all the terrible stories I had heard. I had a friend who is a lawyer who helped me a bit but otherwise it was a fairly easy process for me. Hope you all are successful as well. The wait to find out was the most stressful part.

Brye

Yes, I was a approved after a hearing. My first two applications were on paper (not at a hearing), and my long-term disability company did the paperwork. They left out pertinent information, and my original disability was based on a hip injury which complicated things. But in preparation for the hearing, I submitted all the paperwork that should have been submitted by my LTD company:

- ALL dr's records. Just the sheer volume spoke of my desperation.

- Medical journal articles specifically on POTS and disability

- my record of all visits to drs, PTs, acupuncture, etc. The judge and OT at the hearing agreed no one could hold down a job and go to dr's offices as often as I do.