Who Here Has Mito Diagnosis Along With Ans

Poohbear

I know there are not many on this site but who here has a confirmed Mitochondrial Diagnosis and how was your case confirmed?

I have blood test and muscle biopsy that confirmed the Mito Diagnosis.

I'm new to the whole Mito stuff and it's pretty overwhelming. I had no trouble reading and understanding all the technical jargon when it comes to autonomic stuff but for the Mito stuff I feel like I need a biochemistry degree! (although I understand the basic concepts).

I keep asking Dr's...."Is the Mito potentially the root cause of a great deal of my medical issues?" Nobody seems to agree...Some Dr's say "it could be" others say, "no, it's just another symptom of some other yet unidentified disease".

I do not have enough of the results back yet to know which specific form of the disease I have.

I'm interested to hear from others what specific form they were diagnosed with to see if there is any correlation among the population of us on this site between the ANS stuff and the Mito.

I read that ANS dysfunction is often a symptom in Mito but my case seems to be very different than what they describe on the Mito site in terms of the ANS stuff; my issues are much more involved than what I read about the ANS stuff on the Mito sites.

Sorry if I'm rambling...I'm just trying to understand the Mito stuff and the connections and see what other people here experienced.

Has anyone here had improvement with the 'mito cocktail', if so, what symptoms has it MOST helped you with?

Thanks,

Poohbear

Sorry. Pooh, about your new DX. It sounds like you still have a lot to uncover. I've had a few docs mention the mito stuff in conjunction with my son, but we haven't pursued it.

I was wondering if you knew HOW or IF your MCAD related to any of this? (BTW, my son is now also being treated for MCAD.)

I hope other members have more info for you. I know many here have mito issues.

Hugs-

Julie

Hi Julie,