Estrogen And Pots

firewatcher

I keep reading about the cardio-protective mechanisms of estrogen and how it is supposed to help with nitric oxide, etc. Then WHY is it that young, fertile, pre-menopausal women who are effected the most? If this is when our estrogen levels are supposed to be the highest, why does it hit us at that point in our lives?

I do feel better on supplemental hormones (estrogen and testosterone) but my hormones (gonadotropins) are unusually low. I have one endo who is telling me it is menopause, but my LH and FSH are not high enough to indicate that, they are barely high enough to indicate anything!

Any insights?

I am almost the opposite. My FSH and LH go up into the 50s and I am told I am finally in menopause. At the same time, I am having my yearly period. So, thinking this is the last, ten months later now I have ANOTHER period. I've been doing this for the last 4 years.

I have one largish cyst on my remaining ovary and wonder if it is putting out too much progesterone. Progesterone is the hormone that keeps one from having a period, so I wonder. Maybe it is too much progesterone versus estrogen for me? I do have a growing facial hair problem.

I don't know. I was fine in my life until my periods became extremely wacky, and I went my whole adult life without being on birth control or any hormonal influence. Maybe estrogen/progesterone and their ratios play a part. I hope more people discuss this.

I am so sick of going to the gyn. to get my hormones checked, and everything comes back NORMAL, perfect.

I'm 46 years old. I have terrible stomach pain with my period. I have major emotional swings right before, and before ovulation. I KNOW my hormones are messed up. But no doctor has ever been able to "catch" what is going on. It is soooo frustrating. I have also never been on any type of birth control.

I bought progesterone cream. I just don't know how or when to use it. Something is out of whack and I don't know what!