Delivering A Baby (c-sections, Water Births, Etc.)

katherinel

Hi All!

I am pretty new to the DINET Forums. But one of the reasons I joined is because I have fears about having children someday, and I would like to talk to other people who have POTS about it.

One of the things I have really thought about is delivering a baby by having a water birth. Dr. Grubb told me that swimming is one of the best exercises for people with POTS because of the effects of the water pressure on your body. It seems from what I have heard that water births are a lot less strenuous on the body than a regular birth.

I have also heard a number of people with POTS have had C-Sections. This would be preferable for me over a natural birth. I know my blood pressure really plummets when I am in pain, and I worry that I would start passing out with the contractions. But from what I understand you can't just ask for a C-Section...

Does anybody have any thoughts on this particular topic? I would love to hear it if you do.

A c-section can be asked for actually--in that, this would be something to discuss with your dr. Women with certain health problems, previous c-sections, etc. are actually scheduled for c-sections rather than even go into labor. But it has it's own risks for the mother and child. So, you would need to discuss with your doctor(s) about the best approach for you.

I think with the right wording, a doctor can make the insurance believe that a C-section is necessary. Pushing is very similar to the valsalva maneuver - which can make some POTS patients pass out. I can't imagine fainting during labor is good.

Personally, I have been told by my orthopedist that I have to have a C-section, as my hips dislocate randomly. I can't imagine trying to push out a baby, passing out randomly (with massive tachycardia) and a dislocated hip. ;)

Sara