Food Odors

gertie

Hi Alicia,

I don't suffer from these symptoms, but I do experience a wide array of inappropriate autonomic symptoms related to any gastrointestinal activity or stimulation. I wonder if maybe you get these symptoms because the smell of food gets your GI tract stimulated? Does it only happen with certain foods? Hmmm.... that's my only thought.

~ Broken_Shell :angry:

I don't have sweating, but there are days that I am so hypersmelling everything that I wonder if 1. I'm going crazy, or will by the end of the day, 2. Have suddenly gained super powers. I work in a hospital, so you can imagine how distressing this can be! I can smell sheets, shampoo, water, everything at all once. It doesn't make me sweat but I wonder if the area of the brain that identifies smell is connecting with dysautonomia in some way. Wait, is that the hypothalamus? I forget. I'm not a clinician and I took classes of that sort BEFORE the Adderall LOL!

When I was first experiencing the sputterings of POTS when it first started, I would be really sick and smell motor oil. My mother had the same problem when she experienced and after her brain hemmorhage. Her brain was shifting blood to areas that were trying to compensate for the damage. I wonder if the same is true of POTS patients.

I bet Dr. Low at Mayo would love to see you though with your smelling=sweating thing. That sounds like the kind of patient he would love.

Kitsa