Just Home From Emergency Room

Angelika_23

Well, I woke up this morning with my HR so fast I couldn't count it, nauseated, lightheaded. I thought I was going to pass out. I took my morning meds and laid back down. After about 10 mins, I started feeling like my heart was skipping beats. I had my husband take me to the ER. They didn't do anything except take blood and monitor me. My Toprol kicked in, and the heart rate slowly came down to "normal". So I am home now.

The only odd thing is that stupid bump from allergy testing swelled to the size of an orange overnight. Could this have caused my POTS to spin out of the fragile control we have? I have taken my Zyrec this morning, hoping it will shrink the bump.

Thanks,

Angela

What did the doctor in the ER say about your allergic reaction? It sounds pretty severe. I can't imagine the doctors in the ER wouldn't have said something about it - what did you have tested there? I have no medical background, but from what I know personally and read about people on the Forum and allergies, it certainly could have had an effect on your body!

Hope you're feeling better soon, and I'd give your allergist a buzz about your reaction.

Cheers,

Jana

I wouldn't be surprised. My autonomic nervous system is really funky. I had an ovarian cyst that ruptured, and the pain nearly caused me to have an autonomic meltdown. It took them four tries in the E.R. to find any blood pressure at all, and my arms and legs went numb. It was really freaky. I thought I was dying.